Speechify vs NaturalReader: Best Text-to-Speech for Reading

Illustration for speechify vs naturalreader: Speechify vs NaturalReader: Best Text-to-Speech for Reading

Speechify vs NaturalReader comes down to one trade-off: Speechify charges more for a polished, everywhere app with fast playback and scanning, while NaturalReader is cheaper and gives finer control over voices, pronunciation and MP3 export. If you just need PDFs read aloud on a laptop, the free Read Aloud button in Microsoft Edge may beat both.

This comparison is for students, readers with dyslexia, and busy professionals who want to listen to documents instead of reading them. It is based on each vendor's pricing and help pages as of October 2026, not on hands-on listening tests.

Quick verdict

  • Pick Speechify if you listen on your phone a lot, want to scan printed pages with your camera, and value very fast playback.
  • Pick NaturalReader if you want a lower price, a pronunciation editor, or a monthly MP3 export allowance for personal listening.
  • Pick Edge Read Aloud if you are on a budget and mostly read web pages and PDFs on a computer.

Methodology: what we checked

We did not run timed or accuracy tests. Instead, we compared the two tools on criteria that matter for reading support, using official sources:

  1. Price and plan limits from the Speechify pricing page and NaturalReader's personal plans help article.
  2. Input formats, especially PDFs and scanned pages (OCR).
  3. Reading-support features named in official documentation, such as read-along highlighting and pronunciation editing.
  4. Platforms: phone, browser extension, desktop.
  5. Licensing: whether the audio can be used outside personal listening.

Where a vendor page did not state something clearly, we say so rather than guess.

Speechify vs NaturalReader: side-by-side comparison table

FeatureSpeechifyNaturalReader (personal)Microsoft Edge Read Aloud
Paid pricePremium $29/month, cheaper billed annuallyLite $13.90/mo, Plus $20.90/mo, Pro $25.90/mo (yearly plans cheaper)Free
Free optionFree plan: 10 robotic voices, up to 1.5x speedFree web use advertised; see note belowBuilt into the browser
Max speedUp to 5x on PremiumNot stated on the plans pageNot covered here
OCR / scanned textPremiumAll paid personal plansNo
MP3 exportNot listed on the main pricing page1M MP3 characters/month on paid plansNo
Pronunciation editorNot listed on pricing pageYes, all paid plansNo
Voice cloningNot listed on pricing pagePlus and Pro (up to 2 voices)No
PlatformsiOS, Android, Mac, Windows, Chrome, Edge, webWeb app, mobile app, Chrome extensionEdge browser
Commercial audio useSeparate products (Studio, API)Personal plans: personal use onlyNot applicable

Prices are as of October 2026, per the Speechify pricing page and NaturalReader's Plans & Pricing (Personal Version) help article.

Speechify

Speechify's Premium plan lists more than 1,000 voices in 60+ languages, playback up to 5x, scanning with OCR, AI summaries and cloud storage integrations. Its strength is reach: apps on every major platform plus browser extensions, so a document you start on a laptop can continue on your phone.

Speechify promotes its app for readers with dyslexia on its own site. Vendor marketing is not an independent assessment, so try the free plan with your own documents before relying on it for study support.

NaturalReader

NaturalReader splits its personal plans into Lite, Plus and Pro tiers. All include the web app, mobile app, Chrome extension, OCR, a pronunciation editor and AI features such as summaries and quizzes. The tiers differ in which voice families you get and how many characters you can convert. Plus and Pro add voice cloning for up to two voices.

Note the license line in NaturalReader's help article: audio made on personal plans is for personal use only. If you want narration for YouTube or a course, you need its commercial product instead.

There is also an inconsistency to flag. NaturalReader's website promotes free online text-to-speech, while the plans help article says no free tier is offered for the personal version. Check the current terms on the site before you count on free access.

Microsoft Edge Read Aloud

Microsoft's documentation says Edge's built-in PDF reader includes Read Aloud and highlights the text as it is being read. You open a PDF in the browser and press play. It is not a scanning app for printed pages and does not offer audio export.

Which one to pick for your situation

Students with heavy reading lists. If your reading arrives as PDFs and web articles, start with Edge Read Aloud for a week. Upgrade only if you need phone listening or scanning of printed handouts, where Speechify's camera scanning is the more convenient workflow.

Readers with dyslexia. Listening while following the text is the core use case for both tools. NaturalReader's paid plans include a pronunciation editor so you can fix names and terms that are misread, and Edge's Read Aloud highlights words as it reads, at no cost. UK students may be able to get assistive software through the Disabled Students' Allowance; Speechify has a DSA page, but eligibility is decided by the funding body, not the vendor.

Professionals reading reports. NaturalReader Plus or Pro gives you better voices and MP3 export for listening on a commute at a lower monthly price than Speechify Premium.

Creators wanting voiceovers. Neither personal plan is the right product. Look at dedicated voice tools such as those in our ElevenLabs review, and check licensing before publishing anything. Our guide to AI dubbing tools covers translated voice tracks.

Pricing and free-tier limits

As of October 2026, per Speechify's pricing page, Speechify Premium costs $29 per month on monthly billing, with a discount for annual billing. The free plan offers 10 robotic voices, playback up to 1.5x and text-to-speech only.

As of October 2026, per NaturalReader's personal plans help article, Lite costs $13.90/month or $79/year, Plus $20.90/month or $119/year, and Pro $25.90/month or $159/year. NaturalReader also lists group EDU plans for schools.

On yearly billing, NaturalReader's top personal plan costs less than a year of Speechify Premium billed monthly. Compare Speechify's current annual price on its page before deciding, since it is shown as a discount rather than a fixed figure in the text we reviewed.

What none of them do well

  • Complex layouts. Tables, footnotes, equations and two-column PDFs can be read in an odd order by any text-to-speech reader.
  • Handwriting. OCR is built for printed text.
  • Commercial use on personal plans. Audio for publishing needs a commercial licence.
  • Replacing reading instruction. Listening support helps, but it does not replace specialist support for learning differences.

Limitations

This is desk research. We compared official pricing and help pages and did not measure voice quality, OCR accuracy or app stability ourselves. Prices and plan names change often; re-check both pricing pages before buying. Accessibility needs vary, so trial any tool with your own documents.

FAQ

Is Speechify worth it?

It is worth paying for if you listen to long documents daily and want fast playback, scanning of printed pages and apps on every device. If you mostly read web pages and PDFs on a computer, a free option such as Edge Read Aloud may be enough.

What is the best free text-to-speech reader?

For PDFs and web pages on a computer, Microsoft Edge's built-in Read Aloud costs nothing and needs no account. Speechify's free plan is limited to robotic voices and lower speeds, per its pricing page.

Can AI read PDFs aloud?

Yes. Microsoft Edge reads PDFs in its built-in viewer, and both Speechify and NaturalReader import PDFs. For scanned PDFs you need OCR, which Speechify includes in Premium and NaturalReader includes in its paid personal plans.

Conclusion

Try Edge Read Aloud on this week's reading first; it costs nothing and shows whether listening helps you. If you need phone listening and camera scanning, trial Speechify. If you want lower cost, pronunciation control and MP3 files, choose NaturalReader. For more creator audio tools, see our faceless YouTube channel guide.

Sources and methodology

Desk research of vendor pages, last reviewed October 7, 2026:

  • Speechify pricing: https://speechify.com/pricing/
  • Speechify, Disabled Students' Allowance page: https://speechify.com/dsa/
  • NaturalReader, Plans & Pricing (Personal Version): https://help.naturalreaders.com/en/articles/8854700-plans-pricing-personal-version
  • Microsoft Learn, PDF reader in Microsoft Edge: https://learn.microsoft.com/deployedge/microsoft-edge-pdf